Who We Are

Who We Are:

Phillips Conservation District was originally created in 1949, under the name Malta-Milk River Soil Conservation District. The first Supervisors appointed to the Malta-Milk River Soil Conservation District were Leo Green of Wagner and Wallace Blue of Saco. In 1958, the District expanded to include all land in Phillips County except incorporated cities and towns. That same year, Malta-Milk River Soil Conservation District changed it’s name to Phillips Soil Conservation District. The District changed names again in 1961 to Phillips Soil and Water Conservation District and finally in 1972 to it’s current name, Phillips Conservation District (PCD). PCD once again expanded it’s boundaries in 1994 to include the towns of Saco, Malta and Dodson.

Elected Supervisors:

  • Matt Simonson, Chairman (1999)
  • Pat Anderson, Vice Chairman (2013)
  • Paul Mortenson (2012)
  • McCall Lammerding (2022)
  • Cliff Merriman (2022)

Urban Supervisors:

  • Merrilyn Black (1995)
  • Gary Knudsen (1999)

Associate Supervisors:

  • Hal DeBoer (2010)
  • Craig French (2022)
  • Bryan Kindle (2021)

District Personnel:

  • Conni French, Administrator


  • Shilo Messerly, District Conservationist
  • Shyla Jones, Farm Bill Program Support Specialist
  • Caitlin Gillespie, Soil Conservationist
  • Dillon Moes, Rangeland Management Specialist
  • Abigail Northrup, Soil Conservationist
  • Cora Knowles, MACD Range Conservationist (SGI)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s